Rendez-vous avec nos PDG

Monday February 13, 2023

Location Le Centre Sheraton Montreal1201, boulevard René-Lévesque OuestMontréal
ContactFrom 12 p.m to 1.45 pm (meal included)Registration deadline : Wednesday Feb. 8 at 1 p.m

Louis Morisset

President and CEO
Autorité des marchés financiers

Book now

Louis Morisset

Biography

Louis Morisset

President and CEO
Autorité des marchés financiers

The Quebec financial sector is undergoing profound transformations brought about by, among other things, technological innovations and social issues such as climate change. Learn about or reacquaint yourself with the vital role that the Autorité des marchés financiers plays within this ecosystem, the risks to which the industry is exposed, and the efforts being made to ensure the integrity and proper functioning of the financial sector.

Please note that the presentation will be in French.

Is your organization a member of the Canadian Club of Montreal?
Contact the person responsible for corporate reservations within your organization to complete your registration.

 

Event sponsor

 

Biography

Louis Morisset

Me Louis Morisset has served as President and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers (“AMF”) since July 2, 2013. He also sits as a non-independent member on the organization’s board of directors.
As a regulator, the AMF works to ensure financial sector integrity and efficiency. It acts impartially in the interests of the public, professionals, businesses and institutions. Its activities include, among others, regulation of the insurance, securities and derivatives sectors, deposit institutions and the distribution of financial products and services.
As President and CEO, Me Morisset is responsible for direction and management of the AMF and performs the functions and exercises the powers relating to the administration of all laws governing Québec’s financial sector. He ensures, among other things, that a regulatory and normative framework is implemented and maintained that promotes the protection of investors and consumers and the healthy growth of the financial sector.
At the national level, Me Morisset plays a key role within the Canadian Securities Administrators—the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories—and served as its chair from April 2015 to June 2022. 
At the international level, Me Morisset represents the AMF on the board of the International Organization of Securities Commissions and has, for many years, contributed significantly to the initiatives of that organization.
From May 2006 until his appointment as President and CEO, Me Morisset held the position of AMF Superintendent, Securities Markets. Prior to that, he was a partner at the law firm Stikeman Elliott LLP, where, for close to ten years, he practised corporate law, acquiring extensive experience in such areas as securities law, corporate finance, and public and private mergers and acquisitions.
Me Morisset is a member of the board of directors of the Institute for governance of private and public organizations, Finance Montréal and the Collège des administrateurs de sociétés..
Me Morisset holds a bachelor of laws from the University of Montréal and has been a member of the Québec Bar since 1996. He is also a certified corporate director.
Biography 2022

 

 

 

Major partner
Season sponsors
Partenaire média
Governors

Rendez-vous avec nos PDG

Lundi 13 février 2023

Lieu Le Centre Sheraton Montreal1201, boulevard René-Lévesque OuestMontréal
ContactDe 12h à 13h45 (repas inclu)Date limite d’inscription : mercredi 8 fév. 13h

Louis Morisset

Président-directeur général
Autorité des marchés financiers

S'inscrire

Louis Morisset

Voir la bio

Louis Morisset

Président-directeur général
Autorité des marchés financiers

Le secteur financier québécois vit de profondes transformations provoquées entre autres par les innovations technologiques et divers enjeux de société tels que les changements climatiques. Découvrez ou redécouvrez le rôle essentiel que joue l’Autorité des marchés financiers au cœur de cet écosystème, les risques qui pèsent dorénavant sur l’industrie et les actions menées pour assurer l’intégrité du secteur financier et veiller à son bon fonctionnement.

La conférence se déroulera en français.
 

Votre organisation est membre du Cercle canadien de Montréal
Communiquez avec votre responsable des réservations afin d'effectuer vos inscriptions.

 

Commanditaire d'événement

 

Biographie

 

Louis Morisset

Me Louis Morisset est président-directeur général de l’Autorité des marchés financiers depuis juillet 2013. Il siège également comme membre non indépendant au conseil d’administration de l’organisation.
En tant que régulateur, l’Autorité agit pour l’intégrité du secteur financier et veille à son bon fonctionnement. Elle sert de manière impartiale les intérêts du grand public, des professionnels, des entreprises et des institutions. Ses activités visent notamment l’encadrement des secteurs de l’assurance, des valeurs mobilières, des instruments dérivés, des institutions de dépôts ainsi que de la distribution de produits et services financiers. 
À titre de PDG, Me Morisset assure la direction et la gestion de l’Autorité et exerce les fonctions et pouvoirs relatifs à l'administration de l’ensemble des lois qui encadrent le secteur financier québécois. Il voit notamment à la mise en œuvre et au maintien d’un cadre réglementaire et normatif favorisant la protection des épargnants, consommateurs et investisseurs ainsi que la saine croissance du secteur financier. 
Sur la scène nationale, Me Morisset joue un rôle de premier plan au sein des Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières, le conseil formé des autorités provinciales et territoriales en valeurs mobilières du Canada, dont il a été le président d’avril 2015 à juin 2022. Sur la scène internationale, il représente l’Autorité au conseil de l’Organisation internationale des commissions de valeurs et contribue de façon significative aux travaux de cette organisation depuis de nombreuses années. 
De mai 2006 jusqu'à sa nomination comme PDG, il a exercé les fonctions de surintendant des marchés de valeurs au sein de l'Autorité. Auparavant, il était associé au cabinet Stikeman Elliott LLP, où il a pratiqué pendant près de dix ans le droit des sociétés et acquis une vaste expérience notamment du domaine des valeurs mobilières, du financement d'entreprises et des fusions et acquisitions publiques et privées.
Me Morisset est membre du conseil d'administration de l'Institut sur la gouvernance d'organisations privées et publiques, de Finance Montréal et du Collège des administrateurs de sociétés. 
Me Louis Morisset détient un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de Montréal et est membre du Barreau du Québec depuis 1996. Il est également administrateur de sociétés certifié (ASC).
Biographie 2022

 

 

 

Partenaire principal
Commanditaires de saison
Partenaire média
Gouverneurs